Posted on

25 Albums – Sensational #20

High school is socially awkward for everyone, but being a misplaced  Brooklyn kid suddenly thrust into suburbia, I had to find a way to fit in. Music was the key. I found that if I connected with my circle of friends by having the same musical tastes I can fit in. Perhaps I can even expand the circle. Not only did my plan work, but it provided me with new musical roads to travel.

With Mad Jim as my guide, and my growing collection of albums, I was on my way to acceptance. I got my first job at a local variety store (Janel in East Islip) and was able to spend 90% of my weekly pay (about 12 bucks) on records.

On days off, Mad Jim and I would ride our bikes down to  Record World in Bayshore to get our latest fix. We got into bands like Humble Pie, The Doors, Led Zeppelin, The Who, The Rolling Stones, Jethro Tull, Deep Purple, The Allman Brothers, etc. We bought all the classics. I never left a record store without at least one record.

The other school chums introduced me to more blues, folk, and southern rock. So, I had a diet of genres to feast on, and I ate everything in sight. Back in the 70’s, everything was fresh and new and exciting. All these bands were in their prime and churning out one great album after another. It felt endless.

My circle of friends were all aspiring rock musicians. Mad Jim played drums and he had a garage behind his house, which soon became a place to jam. I didn’t play an instrument, so I served as groupie, roadie and lyrical consultant (when the singers were too stoned to understand lyrics). The repertoire included everything from Cream, The Doors, Mountain, Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young and more. School and work were just places to go in between buying records, listening to records and hanging out with the band.

What better band to explore at the age of 16 but Frank Zappa & The Mothers of Invention. Nothing piques a 16-year-old boys interest better than sexual deviance set to  jazz-rock fusion. These were records you turned down when your parents came in the room. What’s better than that?

I bought a few Zappa albums. “Apostrophe”, “Freak Out”, “Mothers Live At The Fillmore East”, “Hot Rats”. The one that always stuck to my turntable was “Overnight Sensation”

Opening with Camarillo Brillo, it’s a great Zappa album. Songs like Zombie Woof, Montana, I’m The Slime are all classic Zappa.

But, the one we played ad nauseam, and giggled most to was “Dyna Moe Humm”

I think everyone in my age group knows this song. It’s the ultimate in sexual depravity with a hook.

Send the kids out of the room and have a listen. It’s outrageously rude, crude and would be banned in 17 countries today, including this one.

Frank Zappa – Dynah Moe Humm http://youtu.be/2xEQ4Zlbatc

About Stevie GB

57 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.

5 responses to “25 Albums – Sensational #20

  1. Jim "Nipo" Antonucci ⋅

    Oh boy, this is going to be good!

  2. rocknrollnick ⋅

    I feel like every teenage boy around the age of 15 discovers Fran Zappa ha ha. I believe my first experience was with the album Hot Rats… I’ll never forget the first time i ever listened to that album.

  3. Gerard ⋅

    Have heard a few live-albums of him, and liked how he made it sound casual and easy. Thanks to all the side-steps in it i almost forgot what a great musician he was.

Leave a Reply

