Posted on

25 Albums – London Calls #1

The punk rock explosion lasted from 1976 until the tail end of 1979. I have done my best to chronicle those years, starting with the first Ramones album. I am sure I missed a lot of albums that other punk fans may call me out on, but for me, these were the albums that mattered to me.

This brings me to what I believe is the end of the punk era. the last great album.

It’s by a band that already made their mark on the movement. The Clash. The album was a double album. I believe, the first double album of the punks. “London Calling”. This album belongs at number one, for me, not for the fact that it is the last album of the era, but because it’s absolutely brilliant.

The Clash were always a little better than everyone else. We knew if any band was to come out with something legitimate, it would be them. And it was. They lived up to their hype, They delivered London Calling.

I can go song by song, but there is virtually no filler on this masterpiece. The production, the attitude, the energy, and the songs are just perfect.

Joe Strummer at his best, Mick Jones at his best.

Songs like “Hateful”, “Death Or Glory”, “London Calling”, “Lost In The Supermarket”, are classics. They are played on the radio today. The Clash finally cemented themselves as a legitimate band. They got the respect. They earned it. Even ass-hat Billy Joel probably respects them.

Saw The Clash in 1979. In fact, I was at the concert at The Palladium where the front photo of this album was taken. I remember seeing the Who the week before and after the Clash, saying, the Clash blew The Who away. They did.

After this album, the punk scene changed. It was over for good.

The Clash never came close to topping London Calling. “Sandanista” was an abomination, and the few that followed just didn’t work for me.

This was the end.

Rest in Peace Joe Strummer, you brilliant bastard.

The Clash – Death Or Glory http://youtu.be/MwzMuuGOsVI

About Stevie GB

57 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.

6 responses to “25 Albums – London Calls #1

  1. A fitting tribute to the punk era. It all ended right then and there. Still waiting on that next cultural movement. Cant wait to see where the blog goes next

  2. Gerard ⋅

    I allways liked the song London Calling for the obvious riff of Dead End Street combined with the aggressive voice.

  3. Michael Maccarrone ⋅

    Yes that show was amazing. My step aunt worked for CBS and gave me the two tickets, one for you,one for me. Opening bands were Bo Diddley & Sam and Dave but from what I remember we stood on the grand staircase during the opening bands. The excitement and energy of that show were beyond anything Lilco or Lipa or Con Ed could ever produce. The show was broadcast live on WNEW FM. I will never forget when they got to the 4th song Strummer said it was time for a commercial break and they played Koka Cola. You and I looked at each other in disbelief. Remember the LP was still being recorded so half of the songs we were hearing had not been released yet. I have the entire show on CD, and still pull it out every now & then to relive that amazing concert. Sharing that show and memory with you is one of my all time favorite life moments. We also enjoyed a few other shows that were quite memorable. Blondie at the Elgin, or should I say the non appearance of Blondie, but that night we witnessed the viewing of the Anarchy in the UK promo video (which included an unreleased guitar solo),and also the Stranglers Get A Grip promo video. I also have to mention the night we saw the Plasmatics at MFP and on the car ride home us getting massively lost and you driving right through the Armed Security Gates at Grumman. Youth was a wonderful thing…

    • Stevie GB

      HA Michael. I remember most of that. Thanks for filling in the missing parts. It was a mamory of a lifetime for me too. I think we knew it at the time it was going to be something we would never forget.I even have a weird vision of Joe Strummer on stage holding burning torches. Not sure what that was about. It was an amazing night. Thanks for sharing the story and following the blog.

      • Michael maccarrone ⋅

        I remember something about that also….I think they were doing the song Armagedeon Tim and the Keyboard player from the Blockheads came out on stage and joined them….

Leave a Reply

