Posted on

Power Pop

Giving music a label seems to be the best way to sell it. Punk was not working, new wave was. But for those of us who wanted something with balls, we created the term “power pop”. It was hook laden music with those thrashing guitars we had grown to love in the punk scene.

Bands like The Jam were leaning towards that sound. Joe Jackson emerged as a power pop version of Elvis Costello. These artists wanted hit records. Record companies wanted to create a sensation. The masses ate it up.

British bands like The Records, The Motors, The Jags all fell into the power pop category. For the US is was The Knack, Cheap Trick, The Pretenders, etc. It seemed like there was a new band every week. They were getting airplay. New music was finally accepted.

I was happy for them, but sad for me. I liked most of it, but it wasn’t the same.

There was some new music coming out. No Wave started up in New York. bands like James White and The Blacks, Lydia Lunch were too weird for me. I couldn’t get into it.

The Los Angeles punk scene had bands like Black Flag and X. I wasn’t feeling it anymore.

Record World was getting boring. Some of my closest friends moved on.

I was just about ready to do the same.

One of the regular customers at Record World was Steve Weinhouse. Steve was a good guy. We shared the same musical gene. He turned me on to some great bands. Specifically Sparks. Loved four or five of their albums. They are still around today creating new genres of music. Ron Mael is the genius writer. His flamboyant brother Russell, the singer. Very unusual and fun band to get into, but not for everybody. Thank God for that.

Aside from Sparks, I was back to exploring old music. I got heavily into pop music, even Abba (I admit it). Motown, soul, and early 60’s music turned me on.

When I saw the suburban sewer rats buying Billy Joel and The Knack at the same time, I knew it was over.

**Steve Weinhouse turned out to be comedian Steve O (not the jackass guy) and later Steve Ochs, writer of Rugrats. he lives in L.A now and still listens to Sparks.

The Knack – My Sharona http://youtu.be/g1T71PGd-J0

About Stevie GB

57 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.

3 responses to “Power Pop

  1. Gerard ⋅

    i have no clue why ‘My Sharona’ also was categorised as Kinks-song, but that confusion started here in Holland for some reason. i like Joe Jackson, but if i hear one more time ‘Is She Really Going Out With Him’ i get violent…. i like the weird music of Sparks. It seems that they are kicked out of their own fan-newsletter, because they disagreed with the opinions of some of their fans about their songs. So when they protested the fans banned them from the list.

    • Stevie GB

      Sparks kicked out of their own fan club is probably the funniest thing I ever heard, but somehow it fits in with the personality that Ron Mael writes. Thanks for sharing and thank you for all of your comments.

  2. I see at the end you start going backwards in music history. When you’re discontent with the current state of things the only thing to do is to go back! Phil Spector and Motown created some of the greatest records ever.

Leave a Reply

