Posted on

The 80’s – big hair, bigger nothing

kaja

MTV and the death of John Lennon set the scene for what was to become the decade of one-hit wonders, embarrassing music and god awful fashions. Don’t believe me? look at your pictures from that decade. What the hell were we thinking?

By this time, I was married and became a Dad. My maniacal music days were behind me, but I still kept up as much as I could. Watched every video on MTV and VH-1  hoping for something to hit me.

I watched the music scene go from Sex Pistols, Vibrators and Buzzcocks to Spandau Ballet, Echo & The Bunnymen and Kaja Goo Goo.

It was bad enough that punk had softened to new wave. Now it turned into this glossy, gender challenged, pseudo-sleazy, disco mess. It was like somebody ate too much bubblegum in the David Bowie playing cards and threw up.

Just about every song had this new synthesized handclap injected in the mix. It felt like there was a new band every five minutes. You couldn’t pin down a specific sound because it all sounded the same.

WLIR radio became WDRE or “Dare To Be Different”, since you were listening to all this “alternative” music. It wasn’t alternative. It was garbage. You don’t believe me, watch any Adam Sandler movie. That is the crappy music we were subjected to for ten years.

All my favorite punks had either disappeared or fell into the 80’s trap. I can’t listen to any 80’s music without wincing.

Yes. Wincing. I would say that is the best way to describe the 80’s. The WINCEFULL decade.

There were a few bands that I liked. Depeche Mode, Tears For Fears, The Cure and The Smiths. But I found they were like eating cotton candy. It was sweet for a while, then it just made me sick to my stomach.

The 70’s ended. Music was destroyed. It was the post apocalyptic world.

It was a struggle to find anything that interested me.

If I had to pick one album that mattered in the 80’s it was Paul Simon’s Graceland. Otherwise, it was like a vacuum that just sucked and sucked and sucked.

I found myself, once again, going backwards. Listened to Bob Dylan, Jackson Browne, Tom Waits and Leonard Cohen. I am surprised I didn’t shoot myself.

Paul Simon – Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes http://youtu.be/-I_T3XvzPaM

About Stevie GB

57 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.

Leave a Reply

