Posted on

Fallen Idol

simon-cowell

Every January we celebrate another year of the death of music. This year, it starts around January 16th. I am referring to the opening show of American Idol.

This horrible idea is not new. There was a show in the 50’s called “Ted Mack’s Original Amateur Hour”. Gladys Knight and Pat Boone are the two “claim to fame” stars that came from that show. Otherwise, it was a terrible concept. It didn’t really work then and it certainly doesn’t work now.

Over the past 11 seasons, American Idol has manufactured pop stars by dictatorship, led by a couple of British guys who claim to be smarter than the American public. Certainly more arrogant. This was one British Invasion we didn’t need.

I won’t go into detail on how the show works, since you all know by now. What I will tell you is it’s fake, fixed and utter nonsense.

Here is the real sin. I watched it for the past 11 seasons. Every year, I sat there and watched this sewer of a show and I yelled at the screen. I got sucked into the illusion. I never voted. I refused to take it to that level.

The show crowns “winners’ based on audience votes. I don’t believe that. I have never seen the votes. It’s all by design. They create fake drama. It’s all about ratings and money and marketability. Business 101.

I can only name about 5 winners over the last 11. I can name maybe 3 runner ups. Everybody else is a blur of nothingness or acts that have gained huge popularity making the same record over and over again (yes I mean Daughtrey).

They lie to the losers. They say “you have a career ahead of you, this is only the beginning”. It’s a lie. They go nowhere. One term that was kicked around repeatedly last year was “you are an artist”. BULL. This show is not interested in artistry. The audience is 12 year old girls that hound their Mommies and Daddies to buy the records. That is why cute boys with guitars win. It has nothing to do with artistry.

This show is destroying more careers than it’s making. There is no fast way to become an artist. It’s a long road of discovery and creative growth. To make this show the only mechanism for success in the music business is just another example of laziness from record companies. Young people wanting to become “famous” have a better chance by producing their videos on you tube and building a fan base. Don’t waste your time with this nonsense. Boycott it. Get it off the air. Stop the madness. Stop killing the creativity that belongs in  music.

To add insult to injury, copycat shows have cropped up selling the same lies and deceit.

Who won the X -Factor? Who won The Voice? I don’t know.  The winner of The Voice played a free concert at the local factory outlet over the summer. Is that success by the standards of these dictatorships?

American Idol is no longer working. It hasn’t for a while. Don’t agree? I got two words for you. Lee Dewyze.

I suspect this will be the last season. I will not be watching this year. I am done for good. I can no longer, in good conscience, support the death of music. While my wife watches it, I will be on the toilet for an hour producing the next poop idol (not a misprint).

Here is a true artist who wouldn’t have even made it to the first round of auditions, singing what could be the theme song for all the losers, oh, I mean “kids on their way to a successful career in the music business”.

http://youtu.be/hk3mAX5xdxo

About Stevie GB

57 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.

4 responses to “Fallen Idol

  1. Thanks for this, you read my mind. And you’re right, Dylan would have been ‘voted’ off such a show. Disgraceful.

  2. Gerard ⋅

    We had the same show overhere. I never watched it. Gladly in 2002 a guy had the balls to refuse to sign the Idols-contract of not writing and playing your own songs live, but only what Idols wanted. Consequently he was given the choice to comply or get out. He did get out and scored a huge hit overhere with a nice rocksong (see link below). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3EHlfF-Cbk

  3. rocknrollnick ⋅

    A voice is not being an artist it is nothing special. There’s probably about million people with good voices that we’ll never ever hear about.

Leave a Reply

