Posted on

Spotified

spotify

There are many ways to listen to music. In the old days it was vinyl albums and the radio. Along came 8-tracks, so you can listen to them in your car. I had a makeshift jerry-rigged system in my glove box that would change tracks when I hit a bump, but it worked. Spent a lot of time rocking out to those tunes.

Cassettes were only bought by jazz aficionados and geeks, but eventually replaced the primitive 8-track.

In the 80’s, Compact Discs came along promising a crisper clearer sound. We all bought into that malarkey. It has been proven that vinyl sounds better.

Laser Discs made a brief appearance but I never owned one so I can’t tell you anything about those.

Suddenly, the internet exploded and Napster was born. It was an illegal way to listen to music. I never felt right doing it, but I admit to pirating many songs off Napster.

Now we have I-Tunes and Pandora Internet radio. All nice for listening to individual songs, but I miss the album. The experience of sitting down and listening to an album is just about gone. Sure, there has been a resurgence in vinyl but it’s going to be short-lived.

Recently, I discovered something that makes me happy.

Spotify  www.spotify.com

It originated in Sweden and is now an international phenomenon. I absolutely love it.

You can browse by artist, album, genre and actually play the entire album or even the entire catalog from an individual artist. You can make playlists, share playlists, post on social media. There are some artists who are not on there. The Beatles, Pink Floyd, AC/DC, and a few others. But, you will find most of what you crave. Even guilty pleasures. You can listen to Barry Manilow and nobody will know. But , please don’t.

Best part, it’s free. There is a premium service but you don’t need it. The artist gets paid for your listening. What could be better.

I am telling you this is a fantastic service. I am not receiving any commission from them, but I should.

So go now and Spotify. You will not be disappointed.

The Doobie Bros. Listen To The Music – http://youtu.be/5kl0rAnLvJs

About Stevie GB

60 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.

3 responses to “Spotified

  1. Gerard ⋅

    I used Napster quiet some time and got at one point an e-mail from Metallica that if I continued to share their song ‘Whiplash’, they would sue me… After I changed the name of that song into the dutch translation Zweepslag and had no trouble anymore.

  2. Stevie GB

    HAHA…thats funny Gerard

Leave a Reply

