Posted on

What happened to “yeah yeah yeah yeah ?”

Welcome to the first post of my musical blog. I have been a music fan for as long as I can remember. Somewhere in the early 70’s I became more than just a fan. I became a bona fide geek when it came to rock music. I collected records to a level that made my parents nervous. I specifically remember my mother saying “Steven, there is more to life than The Beatles.” She was wrong. There isn’t.

Many events shaped my musical tastes, which I intend to expose in this blog.

I grew up in a house where the radio was never turned off. It was the early 60’s and WMCA, featuring “the good guys” is my earliest memory of pop radio. The good guys included famous DJ’s like Murray The K, Harry Harrison, Scott Muni, etc. I didn’t know at the time these guys would be legends in radio. Some of them moved to different stations over the years. Many died, along with the radio phenomenon.

I remember Murray The K screaming on a daily basis about the coming invasion of The Beatles. Everyone was roped in. Thankfully, the band delivered.

I was 6 years old and I still remember my entire family, along with Aunts and Grandparents, laughing at their funny hair, yet watching the entire Ed Sullivan show in anticipation of the last three minutes when The Beatles would finally show up on screen. The seeds were sown into my soul with Paul McCartney’s head shake and the words “yeah yeah yeah yeah.”

My aunts bought all the Beatles 45’s and played them almost as often as the radio. Today, 48 years later, I still get a chill when I hear “I Saw Her Standing There.”

The phenomenon continued with the Herman’s Hermits, The Rolling Stones, The Kinks, The Animals all hitting Sullivan and turning into overnight successes. I wasn’t old enough, but I could imagine guys faking British accents just to get laid.

Then, suddenly, out of nowhere, it stopped for me.

It was somewhere around 1966 when my Aunt bought me a Christmas present.

It was the new album by my beloved Beatles. Rubber Soul. The cover looked weird. The music was even weirder. I have a vivid memory of not only hating it, but being angry. I didn’t hear one “yeah,” let alone, the expected four. This wan’t the four guys I grew to worship. This was something else. I was a 9 year old kid with multiple interests. My first listen to Rubber Soul and music ceased to be one of them.

I went outside to play wiffle ball with my friends.

I was an idiot.

Daily Song:

The Beatles – Norwegian Wood http://youtu.be/lY5i4-rWh44

About Stevie GB

60 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.

5 responses to “What happened to “yeah yeah yeah yeah ?”

  1. Nick M. ⋅

    Yeeeessss the beginnings of Stevie GB are laid within the confines of this blog. Isn’t it funny that The Beatles seem to be the band that turns everyone onto great music?

  2. wordsaver

    I do not know exactly, I did the same thing, don’t think never that I was wrong

  3. diana GB ⋅

    nothing beats spinning the turntable backwards at the end of “Strawberry Fields” to hear “turn me on deadmen” and
    “Paul is dead. miss him. Miss HIm ! MISS HIM !!! ” or was that Revolution #9 ?

    • Stevie GB

      turn me on deadmen was Revolutin #9. Paul is dead now was in between Im So Tired and Blackbird…now i have to do a whole blog about the McCartney death rumor..haha…

  4. Now, we know, the GB stands for Great Britain. I’m a few years older than you, and can tell you that putting on a fake British accent didn’t get 12 years old laid either. I still love the Beatles and it seems the next generation loves them too. The Beatles really grew aa songwriters, as a band, and set the tone for just about everything for the Boomers. I think we sometimes overlook that the Beatles were just a great band. Not that they were the best musicians out there, but they had a magical something when they played together. Success on their scale took unknowable collection of people and talents emerging and meeting each other at the right moment in time. They became so much more than I’ll bet they ever imagined – cultural icons for the largest generation ever, up until that time. Without planning it, they changed everything. Quite a legacy.

Leave a Reply

