Posted on

Today in Rock- January 7th

BillHaley

It seems January 7th was a quiet day in rock history throughout the years. In 1971, Black Sabbath released their landmark album “Paranoid” in the US. To this day, still one of my all-time favorite rock albums.

However, something did happen way back in 1955. A band called Bill Haley & The Comets had a record out called “Rock Around The Clock”. It entered the UK charts on this day and rock n roll took off.

Back then, parents called rock n roll the devil’s music. It drove teens into a frenzy, causing widespread disobedience, sexual depravity and out of control behavior. Thank you Bill Haley.

Although the song got quite a bit of airplay, it was the frequent riots at the Bill Haley concerts that received the most attention.

Bill Haley and the Comets were the first rock ’n’ roll band to get signed to a major label, the first to have a national hit, the first to have a song in a feature film and the first to appear on a major TV show (Ed Sullivan). “Rock Around the Clock” started a tradition of “counting” songs in rock ’n’ roll, from Chuck Berry’s “Thirteen Question Method” to Gene Vincent’s “Five Days, Five Days.” It has sold over 25 million copies (200 million if you count more than 500 cover versions cut in 32 languages) and appeared in 36 movies.

It received a resurgence in popularity when used as the opening song for the hit series “Happy Days”.

It’s a great song and to this day still gets me to sing along.

Long live Rock n Roll !!

Bill Haley & The Comets – Rock Around The Clock – http://youtu.be/bIJrYnvUU_k

About Stevie GB

57 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.

4 responses to “Today in Rock- January 7th

  1. Jim "Nipo" Antonucci ⋅

    Hey Steve … Yeah I posted this on my wall too but I thought I’d give my list of best CD’s for 2012 a post here too. I think The Japandroids are right up your alley! These are in no particular order…
    Jack White : Blunderbuss
    Bob Mould : Silver Age (He’s back!)
    Beach House : Bloom
    The Hives : Lex Hives
    Fiona Apple : The Idler Wheel (I never really cared for her before… go figure)
    Japandroids : Celebration Rock (I love these guys! Ok… this may be my fave of the year!)
    The Walkmen : Heaven
    Ian Hunter : When I’m President (I put this on my list because of the title track and because I’m an old fart that loved Mott the Hoople)
    Neil Young : Psychedelic Pill
    Patti Smith : Banga (I still enjoy Patti)
    There is still a lot of great music out there (many I didn’t mention) It’s a shame that the radio sucks (it’s been that way for about 25 years) record companies became greedy (even longer) and music has become disposable and kids just don’t seem to give a shit!

    • Stevie GB

      I just heard the Bob Mould album. GREAT. I agree with Beach House and The Walkmen. I still love Patti but didn’t care for Banga and Neil Young was just ok for me this year. GREAT list. nice to see us old bastards still appreciate new music.
      GO JAPANDROIDS. New John Cale was great too

      • Jim "Nipo" Antonucci ⋅

        I had to listen to Banga a few times but ended up loving it and as for Neil hey it’s Neil…. I’ll check out the Cale.

  2. Gerard ⋅

    Great song indeed, i love the both interludes in the song, first the guitar and then the sax. i got to know it through Happy Days, just like Blueberry Hill which Richie allways sang after he made out with a girl.

Leave a Reply

