Posted on

Today in Rock – January 12th

BDDefinition-BeeGees-3-1080

On this date in 2003, Singer-songwriter Maurice Gibb from the Bee Gee’s died aged 53 in Miami
Hospital, Florida following a heart attack during abdominal surgery.

I know some argue that The Bee Gees are disco and should not be included in the Rock category. I have to disagree. The early Bee Gees were as much a part of the British Invasion sound as The Beatles. The sweet harmonies and prolific songwriting put them right up there with the best of that era.

Sadly, this was the second loss in the family. Younger brother Andy succumbed to his demons and committed suicide years earlier.

Just last year, 2012, brother Robin passed away as well. Barry is the only one left. Barry was the chief songwriter of the band. Whether he will record on his own remains to be seen. I doubt it. I am pretty sure he is way past his prime at this point. But money talks.

Although I despised their disco era, I always respected the Brothers Gibb. Yes, they sold out, but I guess you gotta pay the bills and “Run To Me” wasn’t doing it for them.

Regardless, The Bee Gees were a great pop group in the 60’s and I guess I have to give them some credit for launching the disco era.

Here is one of my favorite early Bee Gees songs:

The Bee Gees – I’ve Just Gotta Get A Message To You http://youtu.be/y0Ycg1zY3Us

About Stevie GB

57 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.

2 responses to “Today in Rock – January 12th

  1. Gerard ⋅

    Disco area isn’t my area, but whenever I hear it I have to yell along ha ha ha ha staying alive……. The song I love the most of them is Spicks and Specks. Goosebumps.

  2. I’ve got to take you to task on this one. (Or perhaps I should say “I’ve Gotta Get a Message to You.”) That old “disco sucks” argument smacks of racism and homophobia. Even Alice Cooper said (on VH-1’s “Behind the Music”) that the Bee Gees records were some of the best produced he’s ever heard. If I was going to quibble, I’d say that Barry got a little carried away with the falsetto and started using it on every song. Otherwise, I’d have to agree with you (and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame): the Bee Gees were as much a part of the British invasion as The Beatles.

Leave a Reply

