Posted on

Today in Rock – January 16th

peter-frampton-1976-comes-alive-am

In 1976, I was in a state of waiting for some kind of good music to come along. I had just entered college and got sucked into the Modern Jazz sickness that had been going around. Prog rock had reached comatose levels and I was sick of rock music.

When I looked back on the events of this day in music history, it’s no surprise to find the biggest event of the day was the release of the double live album called “Frampton Comes Alive” by a virtually unknown Peter Frampton.

His golden locks graced the cover. Every track had screaming fans at his concerts. I had barely heard of the guy and he had screaming fans? I found out he was once the guitarist of Humble Pie. A band I kind of liked in my high school days. I had no idea.

As it turned out, Frampton Comes Alive was quite successful. It got played ad nauseam throughout the summer of 76 and became a classic live album. I believe one of the best-selling live albums of all time.

I liked the album, but didn’t love it. I never understood it’s attraction, other than the “cute rock star” look Frampton seemed to possess.

Frankly, I thought it was quite a lame record at the time. I recall my friends and I making fun of it. screaming “Thangyou” a la Frampton at each other every chance we got.

Over the years, I found there were some fairly decent parts on that album, and Peter Frampton is quite a good guitarist.

of course, it turned out to be the beginning and the end of his career.

So, Do You feel like I do?

Thangyou

Peter Frampton – Do You Feel Like I Do http://youtu.be/4PTvI0VqZY8

About Stevie GB

57 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.

2 responses to “Today in Rock – January 16th

  1. Gerard ⋅

    I saw him in Amsterdam 2 years ago, playing the whole Comes Alive concert again. After the Comes Alive part there was a small break after which he played some Humble Pie songs and songs in his later career. He enjoyed himself and us with on the screen pics of being the ‘rockgod’ compared to him now. It was a concert of 3 hours of pure craftmanship.

  2. Alan ⋅

    Many people forget he’s an outstanding guitar player. If you a fan of instrumental guitar rock check out his album “Fingerprints”.

Leave a Reply

