Posted on

Today In Rock – January 25th

The+Beatles

1964: The Beatles hit #1 for the first time in the US with “I Want To Hold Your Hand”. The British invasion is officially under way. Murray The K. was a crazy NY DJ who screamed on a daily basis “The Beatles are coming”. I actually remember this, although I was only 6 years old. I remember my Aunts talking about them. It could have been a Russian invasion the way it was hyped. But would they live up to it?

You bet they did.

I loved them back then. They were my Backstreet Boys. Maybe I should rephrase that.

Favorite early Beatles song: “I Saw Her Standing There”. That one always brings me right back to those days.

I moved away from the band when Rubber Soul came out because I thought it was too weird. I was 9, so what did I know? Of course, later, I came around to recognizing its own brilliance.

The Beatles changed the world, created the idea of the album, guided rock music through the 60’s and 70’s and their influence is still felt today.

Not bad for a band that only lasted 6 years. Nowadays, it takes that long for a band to come out with a 2nd album. It’s hard to imagine what the did in such a short period of time.

I would recommend getting the album “Beatles 1’s ” It’s a collection of their number one hits. It’s really interesting to see how much they changed in those 6 years.

You can call them legendary, but first and foremost, they were a band of musicians. Extremely talented musicians who in a short time created the songbook of our lives.

The Beatles – I Want To Hold Your Hand (live) http://youtu.be/OMNPPwq8I2Y

About Stevie GB

60 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.

Leave a Reply

