Posted on

Today In Rock – January 29th

default_album_image

On this date in 1961, Bob Dylan achieved his dream of meeting his idol Woody Guthrie when Guthrie was on weekend release from hospital where he was being treated for Huntington’s Chorea. Dylan told him; ‘I was a Woody Guthrie jukebox’. Guthrie gave Dylan a card which said: ‘I ain’t dead yet’

I love this story. I have heard it many times. I got into Dylan late in life, at about 35. I wasn’t a fan growing up. I never understood the lure. To me , he was annoying as hell.

Dylan is one of those artists who puts out so much material it’s hard to judge the good from the bad. However, you have to admire him. It’s kind of law, I think.

Favorite all time Dylan album by a longshot is “Blood On The Tracks” It’s about as close to perfect he ever came. Otherwise, he is hit and miss for me. I liked his latest album, “Tempest” and certainly “Time Out Of Mind” is mostly excellent.

I think when you stop trying to figure him out and just listen to the picture he paints, he becomes easier to understand.

Saw Dylan live once. He was god awful. Couldn’t understand one song. But again, its kind of law that you have to experience him.

Dylan has been such a huge influence on so many musicians. Maybe that’s it. He could be a musician’s musician. I don’t know. There I go again, trying to understand him.

Martin Scorsese did a fantastic documentary on Dylan called “No Direction Home”. You should see it. You may still not understand him, but you will have a greater appreciation for him. The interviews between Dylan and the press are priceless. Mostly because the press tried to understand him.

I have a few songs that I absolutely love and this is probably my favorite. Once again, I have no idea what he is singing about. I don’t understand it. But I get it.

Bob Dylan – Love Minus Zero / No Limit http://youtu.be/TTmRB3NAXFs

About Stevie GB

60 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.

3 responses to “Today In Rock – January 29th

  1. Gerard ⋅

    i saw him about 2 years ago. The band was great, and after each song the lights went out, because they had to conference which song they would play now. He played harmonica great as well, but his voice was awfull. At one point i heard him yell something like atch-ower and could deduct from that he sang ‘All Along The Watch Tower’.

  2. Alan ⋅

    My favorite Dylan song!

Leave a Reply

