Posted on

TOP ALBUMS OF 2015

I know the year is not quite over, but I don’t see anything decent coming out in the next 3 weeks. I know there is a new Coldplay album coming out, so like I said…nothing decent….

With that being said, here is my list of the best albums of 2015.

I have to say, it was a pretty good year for new music.

10. Florence And The Machine – How Big How Blue

A step up from the last album, in my opinion. a full sound, but  not overproduced. Catchy, creative songs.

9. Belle & Sebastian – Girls in Peacetime Want To Dance

Eclectic, quirky and consistently interesting. Once again, B & S prove to be indy darlings and I continue to find them fun to listen to. I pretty much like everything they do, and this new one is no exception.

8. Darlene Love – Introducing

Wow. This woman is amazing. An iconic singer and her voice is as strong as ever. This wonderful record features covers and new songs by Elvis Costello, Bruce Springsteen, Steve Van Zandt and more…EXCELLENT

7. Tame Impala – Currents

Great band. Great album. Loved the last one too. I really like these guys. Check them out.

6. Rhiannon Giddens – Tomorrow is My Turn

Carolina Chocolate Drops singer stretches beyond her bluegrass roots to explore gospel, soul and country on this really terrific debut solo album. She is a star waiting to happen.

5. Alabama Shakes – Sound and Color

one word – BADASS. GREAT band. second fantastic album.

4. Leon Bridges – Coming Home

Take Sam Cooke and some Marvin Gaye and you got some serious soul. Leon channels both without sounding like a copycat.

3. FFS – Franz Ferdinand Sparks

What seemed like an unlikely collaboration between Indy rockers Franz Ferdinand and 70’s Glam/Rock/Pop/weird Sparks…works like crazy. Although, Sparks kind of hijacked Franz, it still is a fun listen and a highly recommended purchase

2. Sleater Kinney – No Cities To Love

90’s grrrl rock returns with power and passion. Took me a few listens, but this album is addicting.

AND THE NUMBER 1 ALBUM OF THE YEAR IS EASY

HANDS DOWN

1. Courtney Barnett – Sometimes I just sit and think and sometimes I just sit

Courtney has tapped into a sound I have not heard since the late 70’s. She encompasses the Velvet Underground and Joan Jett, and surpasses expectations. This is a brilliant album. The writing is superb. The raw production is killer. A MUST own for any rock fan of any age.

I encourage you to look up all of these albums and ignore anything the Grammys tell you

ROCK ON

About Stevie GB

57 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.

Leave a Reply

